Prague!

This past weekend myself & a few of my other friends were fortunate enough to visit the beauuutiful city of Prague in the Czech Republic. Before going, I really had no idea what to expect. I knew my brother had been when he studied abroad in Italy, but I didn’t really know what all there was to do there. Upon arrival, it blew any expectation I had out of the water. We arrived in Prague Thursday, afternoon after a 5 hour layover in Munich, Germany. We made our way to our airbnb, which was quite confusing due to the fact that they speak another language (but shout out to Mary for getting us around the whole trip). We ended the night by going to a beautiful restaurant called the ‘Marina’ which was inside an actual boat on the water! It was a very nice restaurant, (but another wonderful thing about Prague is that everything is so cheap). I ordered salmon pasta and it was only 8 US dollars! I’d say that’s a pretty good deal for a fancy restaurant.

Friday morning was glorious because we woke up to SUNSHINE, which I have not seen in so long. Even better, it snowed in Manchester that day, so I was glad to not be there for that. It’s amazing what a little bit of sunshine can do to your mood. We stayed in Old Town Prague, so that was a treat to walk out to every morning.The first day we wandered over to the Jewish cemetery and got to tour around; then went to a traditional Czech restaurant! I must say, the food here was very good. So much more taste & variety than England (in my opinion). Even though I feel like all of Europe is one big carb since that’s all I’ve been eating. We ended the day by taking a hike to view the sunset over the city.

Like brother like sister, I just had to visit the Ice Bar since Caleb did when he visited! We went Friday night and it was such a cool experience. The room is set at -7 degrees and everything inside is ice (obviously). They give you a massive coat and gloves and they even put your drink in a glass made of ice! You could only spend 30 minutes inside due to the temperatures, so afterward we made our way next door to Karlovy Lazne (the biggest club in Central Europe, 5 floors tall). That was super cool as well because each floor had a different theme! The next day we got to explore the castle (which was of course, breathtaking, like everything else in this city); and we also got to see the John Lennon Wall!

One observation I made while in Prague was how peaceful the streets were. There were tons of tourists groups out and about during the day, but it never felt over crowded or super loud. Once again, this is proving my point that Americans are just naturally very loud. The architecture was so impeccable as well. This is called the “untouchable” or “golden” city, which makes total sense. The buildings were all so gorgeous and most would be pastel colored with gold roofs.Walking through this city truly brought me happiness and bliss. Being here was such a joy and I’ve vowed that I definitely want to return one day. This trip had just emphasized how fortunate and lucky I am to be traveling the world while studying in England. I can’t wait for many more adventures. Next week, I am off to Dublin for St. Patricks Day! 🙂

One comment

  1. Cathy, 1929 Charmer Cottage · March 21, 2016

    How thrilled you must be to be in Prague…hope you have a great time. But don’t know why you wouldn’t in such a beautiful country!

    Like

Leave a Reply

